My Banner

At the start of this module we were taught how to use Photoshop to make a banner for our blogs as part of how branding plays an important role in any business.

As I had used Photoshop before and I’ve got an eye for colour co-ordination, I was quite comfortable in making a banner of a high standard. We were also told to incorporate things that we like such as products or phrases etc.

This was my first attempt.

The problem I found with this however was it was bland, had no real direction and was boring as such. So I went back to the drawing board.

The next idea I had was to incorporate my favorite computer game character (Link – ‘Zelda Series’) into a banner with some text that stands out. The final product is below (And also heading this blog). I tried not to incorporate too much stuff into my banner as I personally think it looks too messy.

It is made up of 6 layers. It took a while to get the right combination of letters to the background and below shows the different ones I trialled.

I also came up with a tagline for my project which was “Redefining Success”. Ok, it may be a little cheesy but I think it stands out and has real purpose.

I also made a small logo which incorporated some headphones, my initials and my tagline.

I’ve actually enjoyed getting more into photoshop and using the various tools it has to offer which makes pictures, banners and logo’s look really good. I’m going to continue experimenting the tool and will blog on my progress. I’m also considering taking a professional photoshop course in the summer to further enhance my skills.

Leave a Reply

