#creativact – The Work of My Peers (For Assessment)

Throughout the Creative Activism course, the group has been hard at work at various different media objects to take a stand or to make an impact in the world. Here are some of my favorites and why.

For James Root’s empathy documentary, he decided to take on the challenge of having no communication for 24 hours. What I like about this piece is that he self reflects on himself. He finds out that his days are “un-constructive” and that he talks a lot of “shit”. He also reminds himself of how life was without simple communication tools such as Facebook and Twitter. He uses a mixture of a webcam style video, but adds in lots of other shots and cuts which emphasise the point he is trying to make. That is something that I didn’t do enough of in my documentary and I applaud James for that. People do tend to enjoy the webcam style videos, and you only have to look at some of the top subscribers on Youtube to find that these types of video lead the way. James documentary would fit well in that category. On the empathy side of things, obviously, there are people in the world who can’t communicate in these way. Some people are deaf, blind, don’t have the Internet/phones or have no voice and with James putting himself in there shoes, he is able to grasp what the reality is like for those people. He get’s that point across well in the video. Out of all the documentaries produced, it is my favorite.

Week 1’s challenge was one of my favorite’s to complete and to look at other people’s ideas. The image above, by Sarah Wildash stood out for me. The image is very thought provoking and can mean a number of things which is what the aim of the task was to do. Firstly, it’s the simplicity that stands out. It’s a girl, with a plaster over her mouth which immediately signals to me that this image is about women being made to kept quiet. Then as you see the red splatter that indicates blood in my first thought. Then as you try and link both thoughts, you get a new thought of perhaps domestic abuse. I really like how innocent the girl looks, then with the plaster over the top it gives the real impact.

Emma’s documentary took on a subject very close to my heart. She decided to be bed-bound for 24 hours. This had an impact on me because my family is going through the same process with my granddad who, due to illness has been in bed for just under a year now. Lot’s of people in the world are in the exact same position, so this documentary could have impact on all those people as well. Although not filmed brilliantly, she gets the point across really well. It does make you think what you would do if you couldn’t visit your favorite places again. It’s a strange feeling and one I have put myself in numerous times as I think about my once ‘ever so active Grandad.

The final piece that I enjoyed is Helena’s provoking image piece. What strikes me about this image is that how simple it is. The empty bottles inspire an alcohol culture and the mascot in the background show’s to be drunk and collapsed on the floor which provokes my thoughts. By using the mascot, it makes me feel that the image is trying to talk about the young drinking culture. The mascot immediately signals a sign of children. The image itself is produced well which make’s it stand out even more.

Overall, I think everyone can be pleased with the work, time and effort they have put in by making these artefacts. Although they may not make a massive impact in the world, they have certainly made impact in the local environment and especially with me.

Leave a Reply

